TRENDY NØRREBRO PART I – DONUT HEAVEN AT THE DONUT SHOP

THE CRAVE: Donuts
THE DESTINATION: The Donut Shop in Copenhagen, Denmark

IMAG00998

A sign points to heaven and there are donuts! Specifically, The Donut Shop in Copenhagen, Denmark in the trendy district of Nørrebro. Despite being an avid donut muncher (it’s one of my main craves), it didn’t even make my list of places to eat but a recommendation from my AirBnB host turned into finding donut heaven.

Copenhagen is a top European foodie city and the reason why I went there as part of my Scandinavian trip. Its home to Noma, the worlds best restaurant for four years straight from 2011 to 2014 and notoriously difficult to get a reservation to. In contrast to Noma’s modern upscale vision of Nordic cuisine, there is Nørrebro with its burgeoning foodie culture. Go to the street Jægersborggade and there you’ll find the trendiest area right now in all of Copenhagen.

IMAG00990

The colorful display

As a first time user of AirBnB, my host was awesome enough to recommend a visit to Jægersborggade for the hippest shopping and food experience in Copenhagen and that’s how I discovered The Donut Shop. It is the only handmade donut shop in Denmark because according to the guy who helped me out, other donuts you’ll find in Denmark are mass produced in factories. Speaking of mass produced donuts, I learned that Dunkin Donuts opened their very first location in Copenhagen earlier this year and the Danes are flocking in droves to try it. Crazy considering New York City has hundreds of them but its cool donuts are going global. However, I’ll take the donuts at The Donut Shop over Dunkin Donuts for they are legit.

IMAG00996

Seriously, as someone whose eaten donuts at so many different places, the Danes have crafted a darn good donut. I ordered half a dozen donut – glazed, raspberry honey, lime fusion, caramel crunch, nutella, and white chocolate pistachio. The white chocolate pistachio was my favorite of the six with its green nutty crunch followed closely by the sweet tart punch of the raspberry honey. They were a tad dry but the guy explained the batch for that day were a bit off from their normal standard. I did notice it but I didn’t care much because I was eating delicious handmade donuts in Denmark!

IMAG01137

I’ll take all of those white chocolate pistachio donuts please.

At 15 DKK(Danish kroner) or about $2 a donut, The Donut Shop has 20 varieties you can choose from with the cream filled ones costing a 5 DKK more. Although they don’t have any competition in the handmade donut field, I was relieved their donuts were reasonably priced (because Denmark is expensive) and they are actually cheaper compared to similar places in NYC.They have other locations in Copenhagen and if you ever want a donut in the city, The Donut Shop lives up to being called donut heaven.

Stay tuned for the next part of the Nørrebro foodventure: coffee! Happy eating and remember: don’t deny, satisfy!

One thought on “TRENDY NØRREBRO PART I – DONUT HEAVEN AT THE DONUT SHOP

  1. Pingback: TRENDY NØRREBRO PART II – THE COFFEE COLLECTIVE | The Raymart Crave

Comments are closed.